Groups

Groups organize users into logical entities, allowing them to treat all of them as a single entity. You can communicate to the users of a group directly, assign them courses, or see reports on them. Groups come with mass actions to synchronize its users with its courses. The Groups section shows a tabular listing of all existing groups, allowing you to edit or delete them and add a new one.

You can add a group with the “Add Group” button by setting a name, selecting an optional branch, and entering a short description. There are also some advanced options that can be set for a group, such as a unique group key (which can be shared with the students to allow them to register to the group’s classes) and an optional limit of maximum key uses (for groups were a limited student membership is desired).

After selecting a group from the list of groups, you can update its basic and advanced information, and see the Users and Courses assigned to the group. You also have the option to mass-enroll all of the group users to the group’s courses.

To learn how to mass-enroll all the users belonging to a Group to a course, check the How to assign a set of courses to new users directly chapter.